October 13, 2016


The Great Hall
Sugar Land United Methodist Church
431 Eldridge Road
Sugar Land, TX 77478

The Haunting of Fort Bend

You are welcome to invite a guest.


We meet on the second Thursday of the month.

If you have questions, please email Abby Grobe at abcgrobe@gmail.com



October 5, 9:30 am-2:00 pm: Federal Reserve Bank Field trip and Lunch

October 13, 1-3 pm: Haunting of Ft. Bend

November 10,  1-3 pm: Tribute to Veterans

December 8,  11 am-1:00pm: Christmas Luncheon

January 12, 1-3 pm: Tim Lee, Guest Speaker/Oh! Places to Go, Trips

February 9, 11 am-1 pm: Rodeo Fun/Chili Cook off/ Games and Line Dancing

March 9, 1-3 pm: Health Fair

March 29:  Bus to Austin

April 13, 1-3 pm: FBISD Forum/Legislative Update

May 11, 11 am-1:00 pm Fiesta Luncheon

Field Trip to Galveston Bryant Museum- TBD








Scroll down to page 2.






Who Are We?


We are active, involved, retired educators who meet monthly to...

  • Encourage the economic, intellectual, social, and physical well being of our members.
  • Promote educational excellence by providing books for children.
  • Encourage volunteer opportunities.
  • Support legislation favorable to retired and active school personnel.
  • Enjoy each other's company.


To locate the church where we meet, click on this link:


On the Sugar Land United Methodist Church website is a road map.  We meet in the Great Hall on the north side of the church on the second Thursday of the month at 1 P.M. unless otherwise noted.  Exception:  August,  December, and May luncheon meetings begin at 11 A.M.

How to join TRTA and FBHRE or to renew your membership:

Click on this link to join or to renew your TRTA  membership: 

http://trta.org/membership/join-trta or go to the navigation bar at the top of this page and click on "Membership"  to access membership forms.  Follow the directions on these forms.

TRTA dues are $35.

To join Fort Bend-Harris Retired Educators, attend one of our meetings and pay $10 local dues or mail your $10 check to Cathie Ritchie at 1107 Laurel Green Road, Missouri City, TX 77459.

Please encourage your fellow retirees, friends, and colleagues to become  members or associate members of TRTA as we work to protect your TRS Pension Program and your TRS-Care health insurance program.  Your spouse or someone who is interested in education and desires to promote the interests of TRTA and FBHRE may become an associate member of TRTA and FBHRE.



Fort Bend-Harris Retired Educators was established in 2001.  It is an affiliate of the Texas Retired Teachers Association (TRTA).